And So It Begins….

February 14, 2011

It’s Valentine’s Day and contrary to my initial plan to celebrate this commercial holiday through the mass consumption of chocolate, I instead decided to start this blog.  I had been contemplating the creation of this blog for three years, but somehow I always found a reason or an excuse not to start it, until today.  I am thoroughly excited by the prospect of having my own page on the internet where I can speak about things that are important to me, but I am also feeling a little nervous at the thought of being judged by what I write and how I write it.  I’m not even sure what kind of theme or structure this blog should have.  I guess I’ll just make up the rules as I go along and see how it works out.  One thing I am quite sure of is that my mother will be thrilled that I have finally started this blog, as she has been nudging me about it for some time now.  I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised if she turns out to be the only person who reads it.  I’ve started writing this blog so many times in my head, but I have never written any of my ideas down, which is a shame, because now I am not at all sure what to write about.  Should I write a little bit about who I am?  If you read the section of this blog that gives a short biography of myself, then you already know that I am a filmmaker/ artist/ writer.  If I were to give you a more personal account of who I am, then I would describe myself as a woman in her mid twenties, and, like many (or even most) people my age, I have absolutely no idea what I am doing.  I have no clear long-term goals at the moment, but there are certainly many things I want in life, chiefly, I want to live a life immersed in the arts.  Art in all its wondrous forms is the only thing that has ever interested me.  It’s really what I live for.  As an artist, my world is the world of my dreams.  And in this way, the world of my dreams is a part of my reality, it is my truth.  Filmmaker Akira Kurosawa famously said, “Art is a lie that tells the truth”.

I can’t tell you how excited I am to start this blog.  This has truly been the best Valentine’s gift I could have given myself today.

Thank you for reading! I can’t wait to share more with you in the future.

4 Responses to “And So It Begins….”

  1. MAMA IVRIA said

    This looks like a solid beginning for you. New beginnings are wonderful. I like the photographic images on the edge. Keep up the good work. Remember the quote “I will believe the truth about myself, no matter how beautiful it is.”

  2. tonydeansmith said

    Yay! I love that you did this. Best Valentines gift ever. Keep talking!!

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement!! I absolutely LOVE your blog and find your writing extremely inspiring. I’m really looking forward to reading more of your thoughts in the future.

Leave a Reply

